The Prize Judging Panels


Children's, Middle Grades, and Hands-On Committee


Amy Holcomb, Chairperson
Experiential Learning Supervisor
Skokie Public Library
Skokie, IL

Margaret Bush
Professor emerita
Simmons College   
Boston, MA

Linda Gardner Doll
Lafayette Hill, PA

Jennifer J. Fesche
Materials Specialist/Selector - Science Collections
Harford County Public Library
Belcamp, MD

Dr. Barbara Gage
Physical Sciences and Engineering Dept.
Prince George's Community College
Largo, MD

Daniel (Tim) Gerber
Biology Dept. & River Studies Program
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
La Crosse, WI

Carolyn Phelan
Reviewer, Booklist
Librarian, Northbrook Public Library  
Northbrook, IL

Diana Price
Youth Services Manager
Alexandria Library
Alexandria, VA

Dr. Edward Saiff
School of Science-Biology
Ramapo College      Mahwah, NJ

Dr. Frank Truesdale
Professor emeritus
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA


Young Adult Committee


Maren Ostergard, Chairperson
Early Literacy/ Outreach Librarian
King County Library System
Issaquah, WA

Dr. Stephen Burton
Science Outreach Teacher
Loudoun County Public Schools
Springfield, VA

Pam Spencer Holley
Past President, Young Adult Library Services Association
Coordinator (retired), Library Services

Fairfax County, VA, Public Schools
Fairfax, VA



Lauren Lindskog
Youth Services Librarian
Pierce County Library System
Tacoma, WA

Cathryn Mercier
Professor, Director of the Children's Literature Program
Simmons College
Boston, MA

Dr. Charlotte McGuinness
Supervisory Technology Transfer Specialist
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, MD


Dr. Dennis Schatz
Senior Advisor
Pacific Science Center
NSTA Board of Directors
Senior Fellow
Institute for Learning Innovation
Seattle, WA

Harry Weekes
Head of School
The Sage School
Hailey, ID

John Welch
Media Coordinator (retired)
Enloe High School
Raleigh, NC